Royalty

This morning I headed off from my site very early and took some dawn photos down at Moeraki rocks.  There was some pretty colour in the sky so I felt it had been worth the early start.

From there I drove south.  I had thought I'd come away with no specific plans in mind, but realised that I couldn't go home without visiting Blaze's cross.  The paddock behind it was a beautiful sea of gold - a different sort of gold from yesterday's sunflowers.  It looked so lovely with a backdrop of ripe wheat that it would have been my blip.

But . . . 

As I headed back north I stopped off at a creek I'd never stopped at before and this Royal Spoonbill took to the sky.  It's the first time I've really caught a decent photo of one in flight so it has to be my blip.  It was fortunate that I managed to photograph it against a blue part of the sky.  This gives the idea that it was a peerless blue day - but it's a false impression.  There was plenty of white cloud around, I was just lucky!

I've put Blaze's cross in extras because it really did look great.  I 'm sure if he was aware of it he'd be enjoying the colour and the gentle rustling sound it was making in the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.