Silent Poetry

By Vandy

Painting kit

Today was busy - we were helping Christopher (son) move house and I had some canvasses to prime for oils, so it was late evening by the time I had time to sit down and paint my sketch for the day.

A greeting card with a photo of lavender caught my eye and became the subject of my painting this evening.

As promised, I've included my portable kit in the picture. I paint my daily sketches in a watercolour moleskine which is small enough to fit into my handbag. The paint box is a little kit given to me by my sister and it has all the basic colours I need. Water is a challenge for painting on the go - so a water filled brush is perfect for painting on the train or outside my studio (although I do prefer to paint in the studio with my range of watercolour brushes if I can). Finally, a folded piece of kitchen towel slips between the moleskine and the paint box before they are held together with a couple of rubber bands. And I'm ready to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.