RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Tingambato Ruins

Not quite Chitzen Itza, but we visited my favorite set of ruins so far today under a stunningly blue sky. My wife still prefers Tzintzuntzan. I, however, like these the best as they provided great photo opportunities, even with mid-day sun high overhead. These compact ruins have a well preserved 10 meter tall pyramid (shown here), one of the few non-Aztec sunken ball courts in all of Mexico, a couple of alters, a tomb, and some great wall remnants. All in a beautiful little site surrounded by avocado groves. The best part from my perspective is that there is a little elevated mound on the way to the ruins that provides a great elevated photo vantage point. It allowed me to follow the gatekeeper's rule of not to climb the pyramid (at least that is what it appeared he said in his rapid Spanish).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.