Skate Culture Article #14: Board Collecting...

I think everyone knows that skateboards have pictures/graphics on the underside. These are completely non-functional as skateboarding uses that undersurface in a lot of standard skateboarding. Boardslides, lip tricks or stalls can use the unprotected belly of the board and the graphics are the first to go.

Boards have had these graphics for decades and some have become classic designs, some rather rare or depicting special events. All the hallmarks of art appreciation and so it stands to reason that there are people that seek these out and collect boards to keep and not use for their intended purpose but as art.

I've never until now considered the thought of not skating on a bought skateboard bit I understand why people do and know a few people with a real passion for this. I do appreciate the art form and do have favourite graphics which I've ridden over the years. A couple of my favourites have been ridden, retired and repurposed into other things such as stools or chairs.

I was given this Empire Strikes Back board as a very early birthday present. It's a collaboration between the new owners of StarWars (Disney) and Santa Cruz. A combination of already having a quiver of two working boards and it being a limited edition clash of my favourite pastime and film, it deserves pride of place and preservation.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes of Skate Culture Articles...
This is part of a series of Skate Culture Articles I've been writing as an insight into the sport of skateboarding for an outsider. You can find the rest of the articles by entering tagged skateculturearticle by tractorfactoryphotos into the BlipSearch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.