Chimera

D went across to Dunfermline to the fitba' (under a three-line whip to take his Yaktrax, just in case) while I went up to town to give a tutorial. In an effort to compensate for my one-armed presentation style I probably did a bit too much or too fast - they looked somewhat stunned, the poor souls.

Afterwards I found I'd just missed a bus and it was peeing with rain so I went across to the pub for a pint and some warmth. (A Foxy Lady, from Jedburgh - only 3.8% and very tasty). I was struck, as I had been last week, by the sight of the extraordinary beast in the photograph on the pub wall - it's one of the chimera on Notre Dame, but what a chimera! It has a graceful posture and appears slightly wistful with that turn of the head and the folded hands (paws?). But it appears to have a human woman's breasts, apparently modelled on a woman not in the first flush of youth. What can it all mean?

If I'd known I would have to blip this as the only photo I'd take today, I'd have made more of an effort to avoid the reflections. Tant pis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.