Aud stuff

By X5AUD

Find beauty

We went to see A Winter's Tale at the Citz tonight. It was a modern staging and at the start I wasn't sure I was going to get into it. Actors in modern clothes but when the lines are all forsooth my lord, verily I say unto you.... etc etc I thought it was going to jar too much (or that I wouldn't follow it since I knew only the briefest outline of the story).

However, I was wrong. It was a wonderful production. The intense performances and physicality of the actors and the staging was by turns gripping and disturbing. We were three rows from the front. Towards the end of the first half, when The queen is protesting her innocence at her trial, we could see the tears which ran down her face. And in the closing scenes of the second half, again tears running down the king's face.

The photo was on a wall of what looks like another new Finnieston restaurant in the making. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.