Bluheron

By Bluheron

At Risk

At the march for racial justice yesterday there were several speakers.  “I am Muslim American,” one of them said. “There are other Muslim Americans in Portland. They are afraid to come out of their houses and participate in an event like this. If you know of someone like this, please reach out to them.”

In my young adult life, I was battered by my husband. On the recommendation of my lawyer, I changed my name and went into hiding with my young son. It is incredibly difficult to live in this way. I am ashamed of my government for frightening so many Americans…immigrants, children, women, people of color… the list goes on. At a rally for our Senator in the afternoon, there were many, many of us in attendance. I have hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.