Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ghost

The best of the light had gone by the time I headed out for a walk on the moor. The warmer conditions had thawed the ground so we are back to the usual winter quagmire underfoot.

After a solitary Stonechat at Moorside it was fairly quiet until I arrived at Sconce where looking back across to the moor I glimpsed a ghostly shape moving across and then disappearing into the soft rush. I had briefly glimpsed a Barn Owl here last year, so I waited to see what would emerge. Sure enough, a Barn Owl popped up, and I was able to follow its flight until it settled again about quarter of a mile away.

It took about half an hour of stalking to get within range for a recognisable photo; not that sharp or well lit but a nice record of a special encounter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.