Stark

In stark contrast to the industrial decrepitude of Deva, the city of Sibiu is a grand gem.

A former European City of Culture, it deserves the title, and deserves not to have had to share the accolade that year with Luxembourg (?!).

Melting snow has left roofs attractively half covered. I imagined the warm summer evenings when this square bursts into beer fuelled life. I followed swaddled Roma women (not creepily) down curving flights of stairs and through passages. I skittered through snow shovelled paths and periodically sat with a hot fruit tea. I skidded around on packed ice and dodged the mounds left by heavier snowfall in this area. I sat by the old city walls and listened to dramatic music. I regretted the doughnut shop being shut. I realised even Sibiu has ugly architecture when I tottered to the left luggage office at the station, where I'd stashed my bag. I had a final bit of Romanian salami and bemoaned the remaining lei in my pocket as the airport doesn't accept the country's own currency.

Romania has been a rich experience. The wealth of things to learn about Europe is incredible. I hope I can return on another work mission.

Those who hear my weather blip moans (bloans) will be relieved I haven't spent the last two weeks carping. Although you haven't been spared the political trolling. 50% respite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.