Just hope

I have read some Blips lately and I have had some friends comment as well about an executive order that severely restricts immigration from seven [not all or even the largest] Muslim countries, suspends all refugee admission for 120 days, and bars all Syrian refugees indefinitely.
My simple thoughts...
We are all hypocrites as we all draw arbitrary lines regarding what is "right" across many aspects of life.
For example, I love animals but I am not a vegan.
I certainly acknowledge my own hypocrisy.
I want all people to be safe and happy.
But how can I condemn people who want to build a wall or vet immigrants closely when I lock my own doors and deny entry until I know a stranger is safe?
Why is it prudent for me to do that but "wrong" for a country that is under threat, when we know that passports have been stolen and falsified?
I heard a statistic quoted today that indicates that the odds are billions to one that a terrorist will enter the country. (No source of that statistic by the way and I am always skeptical of statistics. )
Well the odds are millions to one against winning the lottery but I have bought a ticket because someone has to win.
I try to let data drive my decisions and I'm sad to say that I can't rely on any politician or the press for the elusive truth. The truth is there in the data, not in the stats and not on the nightly news. It takes work to get it. And the truth is usually both complicated and simple.
My path forward-
I will see my own hypocrisy for what it is and allow that others have their hypocrisy too.
I will be motivated enough to really get data from various sources.
I will give people kindness and keep an open mind.
When Mother Teresa received the Nobel Prize, she was asked, "What can we do to promote world peace?" She answered "Go home and love your family."
Sounds like a simple plan which works for my simple brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.