Somewhere I Have Never Travelled

I went to bed last night despondent about Lightroom and this morning started Googling to try to find a class or tutor to help me. I decided to get out for some togging therapy, heading for the Longlands Hide, where I knew I would at least get fairly close to tweety birds. Even they were few and far between. I did see busy rat and his mate, a chaffinch with a injured leg, a pair of muntjacs and an unusually dark coloured blue tit.

From there to the Bittern Hide. The people inside had seen the butterbump just before I arrived. We photographed a water rail, a wren and my first ever peregrine, which I spotted spooking the peewits. I enjoyed chatting with the friendly birders, one of whom knew what I was talking about when I mentioned Sooty the blue tit. :)

Today's poem is "somewhere i have never travelled" by EE Cummings or ee cummings as he would have it. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/somewhere-i-have-never-travelledgladly-beyond

I must admit I find his style without capitals and with weird punctuation rather affected and trying. However his title is quite appropriate for me today. When I got home I had another stab at Lightroom, went somewhere I have never travelled in editing and managed to produce and export the above. :) 

Cummings' poem is referring to the fact that he sent a poem to the wife of a friend who read and enjoyed it early in the morning - presumably in bed. He describes the poem he sent as being fortunate as it had been somewhere he had never travelled. :) This lovely new Asus laptop might end up in bed with me. :)The battery of my old one died years ago.

I'm still behind and have a couple more backblips to do. I'll reply to people's kind comments in due course.  

    

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.