Mono Monday: Week 158 .......

Street Photography: From the hip.

My first and only choice for street photography today was Downtown Bethlehem, PA.   Thankfully today was a nice, sunny day for street photography.  

I wanted to time it right so that there would be plenty of people walking down Main Street, but when I got there that wasn't the case.  Luckily this couple was walking toward me as I started up the street.  I had stopped to take a picture of the Nitany Lion statue (Penn State's mascot) that sits outside the Hotel Bethlehem.  I took a few pictures from the hip and hoped for the best.  As I live my life on crutches I don't have the ability to take pictures as I walk ... I have to be standing still!  I tried setting my camera on an interval timer so that it would fire off a shot every 4 seconds but that didn't work out well at all! I got lots of blurry sidewalk shots!

As I continued up Main Street I encountered the gentleman in my extra ... his name is John.  He was waiting for a restaurant to open as he had quite a large delivery for them.  I took a few shots of him (with the interval timer) as I walked by but then I worked up the nerve to just simply ask for his portrait.  "What for?", he said. "For a photography challenge", I said.  "Sure", he said .... 

Note: As some of you know I will be the Mono-Monday host for February. (Yikes! What have I gotten myself into?!?)  I will be posting the first theme on my Thursday or Friday journal. And I will also be posting the themes on the Activities/Blip Meets & Discussions/Challenges page. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.