And Then There Were Two

A few weeks ago I blipped January from the calendar I made Dad for Christmas (and I have a copy too). This year I've featured photos from the past, more recent family photos and blip photos I thought Dad would enjoy.

I turned the page to February earlier this evening. Aptly it features my lovely uncle Bob (bottom right) who passed away on Saturday. Bob married Fay, Dad's sister. And yes, there is strong resemblance between Fay and I.

The main photo is Dad and Fay together on a weekend visit she made to Dad last year. The photo bottom right with Mum, Dad, Fay, and Bob would have been January approximately 5 years ago.

Now there is only Dad and Fay from that photo. Dad's known widowhood 3 years, Fay just 3 days. Today Bob's life was celebrated and he was farewelled. It wasn't possible for me to go but Dad flew to Hastings for the day with my brother.

I thought of my extended family a lot today. I thought of Bob, as a headmaster when I was growing up. That made him a bit scary to a young girl but ultimately his engaging and probing questions helped fuel my thirst for knowledge and reinforced the value of education.

Although at a distance today I gave thanks for Bob's influence in my life. Somewhere in the building blocks of my life is the imprint of my uncles thought provoking questions. They helped me develop skills of enquiry, questioning and probing deeper, skills I use every day in my job.

Thank you uncle Bob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.