More!!

He’s picked the plum stone clean  and now he’s shouting loudly for another. The trouble was his dad went into my greenhouse and picked one of the just-starting-to-ripen grapes. I know the sort of destruction that can lead to. Blackbirds will strip all the unripe grapes or berries to get the ripe one.

I saw the waxeye family! Waxeyes are very secretive when they have babies. I hear the chatter, see leaves ruffling, but that is all. While I was looking out of a window the parents settled on a nearby tree. Then two chicks followed them. They were cute babies with short puffy feathers. The circle of white feathers around their eyes had not yet developed. I was intrigued to see them begging for food by crouching down and shaking their wings, similar to the threat behaviour of adults.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.