Blackness Castle on the Firth of Forth

After Blipping today - for once I was early - I went out in the car to explore the Firth of Forth beyond South Queensferry. So it all changed.

First I came across Abercorn Church and then Blackness and its castle. In between I visited Midhope Castle - which dates from the mid-15th century - and drove up to the House of the Binns - which had some amazing sycamore trees growing in its rich parkland.

So I've used up a few precious extras. It was a wonderful afternoon - still, with a threat of rain at first and then clearing away enough to let the sun get under the cloud cover.  Geese flew overhead and settled on the still waters of the Forth.

I shall have to read up about Hopetoun House and Blackness Castle but visually it was pretty fantastic. The sounds of clanking and grinding came over the waters from Rosyth but it was beautifully tranquil.

I couldn't help thinking that this was the way the world should be and that Donald J Trump - who's mother came from Tong on the Isle of Lewis - has an awful lot to learn about compassion, humility and grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.