There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

August Greens

I scheduled myself a last-minute mini vacation, taking Thursday off to spend with family at Knoebels, and taking Friday off to spend some outdoor time with my husband. Here is a short list of some of the beautiful things I saw on Friday:

-A second, very pretty rabbit has joined "The Bun" in our yard; this is good news, as my husband has been threatening to bun-nap one of our neighbors' rabbits to keep "The Bun" company.

-One of my green peppers is finally turning red, and the crittergators had a "harvest fest" celebration for it.

-A black swallowtail with battered wings but a can-do spirit feasted happily on our butterfly bush.

-A strapping yellow and black stripey monarch caterpillar hungrily nibbled the leaves of some milkweed in our front yard.

-My husband and I went swimming at Bald Eagle State Park (see photo), where the water was lovely and refreshing, and everything was green green green.

-The crittergators and I encountered and befriended a small but hefty toad in the little Sand Hill cemetery by the park (graves there are quite old, and date back to the Civil War).

-While I was taking this photo, tiny orange and black, intricately patterned pearl crescent butterflies flew all around my feet and landed in front of me, and a dark colored butterfly (or maybe moth?) sat down on my foot and hitched a friendly ride on my sandals.

Do I know how to have summer fun, or what? :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.