Ring the Bells

I almost can't bear to switch the news on at the moment, what with this and that and well... Trump. 
I've been looking forward to tonight though, my good friend Chris's birthday present from me was a gig by the amazingly talented Sarah Jarosz. Somehow just listening to some live music, the fine company of a good friend and some banter with strangers and I feel a bit more grounded again. Grounded I think is a better place to do my bit to speak truth to power, and hopefully bring grace and goodness to life.
I last saw Sarah in the States at a much bigger venue a couple of years ago, she's since found a much more mature (well she is 24 now!) songwriting thing herself, but it was when she sang her cover of Dylans Ring them Bells I was moved to the edge of tears, but then listening to her own penned Jacqueline (referring to Jacquie Kennedy/Onasis) I was struck by both the beauty of the song and a wondering about what sadness the current FLOTUS carries with her in the White House.
Oh and we sang, and stomped and whooped and clapped and remembered joy and at the end all smiled at each other, strangers ,glad to have shared shared the space together.
Thanks SJ - you and the boys blasted it tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.