StorksRock

By StorksRock

The Shot Tower - day 1 of 33 days of freedom

I'm in the lucky position of having a month's garden leave.  I've finished one job and I start the next on 6th March.  Hence the "33 days of freedom".

I've always said that time off after finishing a job would be so much more enjoyable, if only I knew when the next job was going to start.  That way I could enjoy the time properly without worrying about how I was going to pay the bills.  Now I'm in that position...

One of the things I decided I'd do was to get back on Blip, and post a photo every day.  (So first day, tick)....  I've also spent time today working out how I'm going to use all this lovely time.  Now, you might say that I would have been better working that out before I started the time off.  And you'd probably be right.  But somehow I couldn't actually make the plans until I had stopped working (although I had allowed ideas to pop in and out of my mind).

So the highlights of day 1 of the 33 have looked like this so far:  

- Ran the "Shot Tower Loop" (about 5 miles).  On the way around I wondered why I was doing this on my own, so I've texted a neighbour to ask if she fancies coming for a run with me on another day - and she has replied to say that she does - so that's something else pencilled into the diary..  As for the run - I've still got a lot of fitness to make up after my dodgy back and numerous colds - but I'm getting back to form gradually.
- Booked up a few activities and arranged to meet various friends.  There's more to do on this but I'm waiting for a few replies now..  It looks as though I'll be busy
- Went out to lunch with Houblon - to what we call the "new Italian" - Osteria Pulcinella on Church Street - it's probably been there 20 years!!  I had a cheeky glass of fizz to celebrate my freedom, and Houblon took longer than he really should have as a lunch break

Today's photo is in mono because it really was a very mono type of day, with a bit of drizzle to keep me cool as I ran.  The Shot Tower is a pretty impressive building, and is a reminder of the history of gunpowder production in this area.  I was marshalling here at last week's Crane parkrun.  When you see the Shot Tower for the second time on this parkrun, you know that you're nearly at the finish...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.