dreaming

By dreaming

Memories

I thought my cold was much better when I woke up this morning, but a brief restricted workout with my trainer was enough to exhaust me.  I don't feel up to going outside, despite the lovely sunshine, so I thought I would break the rules by posting this photo I took yesterday at my sister's house.

Endless Weekend's painting is of me and Blackberry, a wonderful cat with whom I had a long love affair.  She adored me; whenever I came to visit, she would climb onto my chest, stretch out and just lie there and purr.  I could hold her on my shoulder and hug her, and she was happy to be there.  Even when she got old and infirm, I was still her pal.  In the end I was the one who had to take her to the vet when she developed congestive heart failure, and hold her while she was put to sleep.  I cried my heart out.

She was not always sweet - in fact she ruled the roost at EW's house, lording it over the two male cats and intimidating them fiercely.  I've seen them hesitate to enter a room if they thought she might be lying in wait ready to attack.  All three cats are gone now, just memories.  Blackberry was the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.