Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

39.175430, 23.615916

We have now reached freespiral's International Holy Wells Month and so I shall be skipping between this and my five-year old story of why cancer treatment is a better experience than Donald J Trump. 

To the best of my knowledge holy wells are an alien concept to Greece which is why my entries are all tagged nota holywell butitisa . . . Last year I focused mostly on wayside shrines and this year it is my intention to bring you a collection of privately built chapels, for which Skopelos is famous. But today, day one of my mission, I have been sidetracked by this disaster in the main village square in front of the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. This was a delightful circular pergola through which grew an impressive Virginia Creeper. The creeper spread out across the pergola and joined up with frameworks reaching out from buildings around the square providing a wonderful shady environment. The damage to the pergola has been caused by weight of snow. I hope that what remains of the plant is able to cover a lot of area in a short space of time.
Before

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.