Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Icon from the old box

Having time at hand as unemployed I decided to organise my  fotos taken when on holidays in Greece in October 2014... thousands I'd taken and I need many more days than 1 to organise the files.
This is one of the icons in the little Byzantine church of Kissos on Crete. Together with 2 friends from Chania we'd spent a day travelling thro' the province of Rethimnon from one hamlet on to another where small churches stand since centuries with byzantine icons on their inner walls. Sadly almost all of these icons have been tampered with during the Ottoman occupation by the foreign soldiers; especially the eyes had to be taken out. None the less my friends and I felt that day like wondering around in a treasure box!

If you have time to look at more... I put the images of that day in Flickr (3 pages in total)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.