Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

One of Three of Eight

I bought a bag of peanuts over the weekend and have been going out in the evenings, crinkle the bag a bit, and then tossed a couple of peanuts out to attract the squirrels.  All eight (that I know of) came out and each got their fair share. 

On Wednesday evening (w/o the camera), I sat on the ground and was able to coax three of the squirrels to come within two feet from where I was sitting. They calmly collected their peanuts and either ate right in front of me or took off to find a safe burial ground. 

This evening, I took the camera with me and tried to repeat what I did on Wednesday.  Five of the squirrels were MIA, two didn't like me having the camera and took off and the last was this one who kindly let me get exactly three shots over a 45 minute period...  This was the second shot and the squirrel was probably 14" from the end of my lens.  

BTW - As a test, I put the camera inside, went back and sat in the same place and the squirrels came right up to me with no hesitation.  Maybe I will have to get an old camera body and sit it out by the feeders so that they get used to it and then try again.

Happy Thursday and thanks for looking in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.