Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

When blipping goes wrong.....

Yes, for the first time in 300-odd blips I messed up today. This is just one of three surviving images that would have been discarded for obvious reasons had I not lost some lovely photographs from our overnight stay in an idilic spot in the Lake District.

Still there's a story to this picture because the platform here was used to give a friend I had met at another friend's birthday party, a fly casting lesson. He has his own trout-stocked tarn in front of his house. But has yet to catch a fish. I was going through the the casting actions, then left the line the water while we were discussing something and a trout decided to go for the fly. "Pure fluke," I said as he took the fish to show his wife. Then, as he was walking back from the house, I hooked another so he had a nice brace to smoke for breakfast next day. And yes, I did feel a bit smug which I know is unforgivable.

The best bit of this day for me, however, was to look over and fish one of the favourite sea trout pools of the late Hugh Falkus, a fine writer on game fishing. It was here on the River Esk in the western Lakes that his ashes were scattered and there's a stone there marked with his name.

And you could have seen the lake and the house, stone and the fishing pool, except that when uploading my images, the computer memory became overloaded and I unwittingly deleted the images from the camera when they had not uploaded. All gone. Another lesson learned.

But we still have some lovely memories of a friendly and welcoming family who shared their home with us in this quite magical spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.