Flower Friday Bee

I got into a heap of trouble with one of me mates for not being precise about the moth I blipped on Monday (I am the first to admit that I am spatially challenged). 

So today I took my ruler out and measured the flower.  It's a wahlenbergia (native blue bell).  The flower measures 1 cm across at the widest point - petal tip to petal tip.  The tube bit in the middle measures 3 mm across, and that's the bit the bee dives into to grab the pollen.  In extras I've posted a crappie photo that shows the bee wrapping itself against the anther and scrapping the pollen onto its under belly. It's a Homalictus bee - barely 5 mm long.

Fascinating to watch, and I had to "borrow" the Rower's camera and the macro lens in order to get this properly.   My camera just doesn't cut it with these tiny insects.  I can't get close enough.

In other news - Oh, I am cross.  We have to lodge our monthly tax return on-line with the Australian Taxation Office.  Their site has been down for 2 whole days.  It's simply not good enough:  this is what they say:
The ATO continues to work with our partners from Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) on work to restore ATO systems and services.
HPE have deployed their global resources to restore the ATO systems and the associated infrastructure. Once this restoration is complete, our staff will work to make ATO services available for the community.
Due to an unforeseen complexity in the system restoration process, our services are unlikely to be available before close of business today.


And - I went to turn on my LG phone this morning ;  didn't work.  Pulled out the receipts - and it's 3 whole days out of warranty.  Called the retailer,  They didn't want to know.  Called LG, who gave me the name of their repair person - in Sydney of all places.  Called the repair person.  They told me I had to get a number from LG.  Called LG back again, and after sitting on the phone for an entire hour, they said they'd call me back with the number.  Three hours later - still no call back.  Called them again , and got their precious number after waiting for only 35 minutes.



Sheesh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.