JVM my life

By JulieVMac

US Tennis Open

After a hard day working over at Brooklyn at CUNY, my host drove me and his postdoc over to Flushing Meadow to catch the opening night of the US Tennis Open. I thought I was a crazy driver but I am a mere novice compared to MM - we had only one minor accident when he drove full pelt into a stationary pavement which he failed to spot!!

The Americans sure know how to have fun - the opening night of the tennis was amazing, fireworks, live music,merchandise galore. I thought the Olympics at Wimbledon was impressive but this is something else. In between changes of end we even have music played and crowd celeb spotting - they were all out this evening to watch the tennis, Alec Baldwin, Stanley Tucci, Anna Wintour, Zach Braff - celeb heaven.

Federer and Clijsters were playing two Americans and the evening does not finish until the matches do so no noise restriction laws like the British at Wimbledon. A great night but very late!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.