Tango'ed

This is not my home hallway office, it's one of the opticians' rooms at Boots. Some spectacular incompetence in their system has led to multiple visits by me to sort out my prescription. They're sick of the sight of me. One of the staff called Heera with a brilliant Mancunian accent has finally sorted it, hopefully. Always trust a Manc.

Much discussion around US politics at the leaving do of a longstanding colleague who's bravely giving it all up to develop a holiday lettings business in Barnstaple. Useful to remember that all Republicans have raised the idea of repealing the abortion rights act, and although he's the opposite of what the world wants in a statesperson, his general brashness exaggerates our view of how much of a monster he is.

We all agreed we need to get out of our wind tunnel of liberal news, to be reminded of others' perspectives. I want to do this without supporting the Daily Mail and its brethren financially, which I feel buying the papers and clicking on their links both do.

As I cycled home a huge 4x4 was driving fairly menacingly towards me, I realise now so that someone in the car could smack me squarely in the face with a bottleful of Tango (could have been Fanta). Their aim was good but it was highly irritating. If that's entertainment, people need to seriously examine their lives and do something productive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.