Seeing Red

I had a wander along the valley today. The weather was lovely and spring-like and didn't the birds know it! Particularly vocal were Nuthatches, Long-tailed Tits and Woodpeckers (drumming). My main quarry today though was fungus for my microscopy workshop tomorrow, and I managed to find a few nice specimens, including some Oyster mushrooms, and these vivid Scarlet Elfcups. 
Towards the end of my walk, I saw a lovely female (redhead) Goosander on the river and it was a tough call not to include her as my main blip, but the fungi won out as it's only a couple of days since I blipped a pair of Goosander further downstream. She is in extras - I couldn't leave her out all together. Soon they will be on their way North and West, as they don't breed but only overwinter in this part of the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.