Calla Lily

I have just read that they are neither Lily nor Callas.  They were named incorrectly by a Swedish botanist (Linnaeus) and then later corrected and given their own genus, Zantedeschia, by a German botanist (Koch).  They are often used for weddings (romantic for the theme) and the pink variety has a connotation of admiration and appreciation.  I also liked this as stated on the Teleflora Blog - The exquisite calla lily is an appropriate flower for any occasion that involves major transitions, rebirths and new beginnings.  Well, we certainly are in the midst of that and this may be the only pretty thing about it!  My mom carried a bouquet of Calla Lilies on her wedding day, so they always remind me of my parents as well.  


Many thanks to BikerBear for the theme and carrying on as host for Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.