Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Confirmed

On the reverse of my 1954 certificate of baptism, this note has been written by someone. Not my parents hand writing so I suppose from somebody at the catholic preparatory boarding school I was being "educated" at - All Hallows School, East Cranmore, Near Shepton Mallet, Somerset, UK. 

Probably when I started at the school in September 1962 (aged 8 and a few days), the baptism certificate was part of the "check-in" formalaties and kept on file for the duration, so they probably made the note.

I do remember the day vaguely and remember it was a senior churchman, I guess the Bishop of Bristol. The ceremony held at St Alphege church (or Ælfheah), a modern 1927 church officially called "Church of Our Lady & St Alphege". The catholic church had of course lost all it's rather nice churches in the area (Wells & Bath) a few years earlier.

Unlike for most of the other boys, my parents were not present at the church but I seem to remember being kindly taken by another boys family to a celebratory restaurant meal. Perhaps it was the "Verrecchia" family whose son was a best friend. They were a well known Bristol family of Italian descent who started an ice cream business which earned an amazingly good reputation and I think were the first people to start selling ice creams from vans. For some unknown reason the business closed a few years ago, seemingly not prepared to reduce their handcrafted quality standards simply to remain commercially viable.

Possibly we went to one of the two then new and amazingly successful "Berni Inns" steak restaurants in Bath. The Berni group also had it's origins in Bristol and based around the two Italian brothers Aldo and Frank who since around 1960 had taken the business from two or three units to over 200 by 1966 and later 320. Little did I know that in the 1980s, I was to work for Berni Inns which were then part of Grand Metropolitan plc which in turn later became Diageo plc.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.