Dry Dykin'.

Look it up and you'll not find it as such. You will find ''Drystone Dyking'' and variations on the theme.
I've never, fully, understood why: having spent all my life calling a hedge a "Dyke''. It's only you lot over there (So far as I'm aware) that gave it any other connotation.
Properly made they'll vastly outlive a hedge, with zero maintenance. not a clue how true it is, but a bloke (Who generally knew what he was talking about) once told me that a lot of the lakeland walls were built by Napoleonic P.O.W.s to keep them occupied, though I've never researched it.

I suppose an alternative title might be Gaffer's choice coz I usually call her in when I can't make my mind up.

''I used to be indecisive ... now I'm not so sure.''

Took a dash out to Chez Chippy for a ''vaping lesson'' then a walk down a nearby lane, where we saw this.
We also saw a hedge ... well several. But this one had me puzzled. The Gospel according to The Man says that the age of a hedge can be, roughly, calculated by the number of invasive species: at the rate of about 1 per 100 yrs.
By that criterion alone it was in excess of 1,000yr old.

I managed to identify Hawthorn, Trident Maple, White Beam, Blackthorn and one I couldn't identify made it 400yr old and I'm sure there were at least 2-3 more.

''NAH!'' said Chippy ''I watched them plant it 2-3 yrs ago, all different species.''

I also saw at least three different species of thistle, looked them up on return to discover that, as far as I can tell from t'Internet, I've NEVER seen a Scotch Thistle.
DUH?!?!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.