Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

My First Oktoberfest

I was at the time working for Grand Metropolitan plc's Retailing Group in the UK, specifically responsible for building up an internal audit function in their newly acquired restaurant businesses in Switzerland (Spaghetti Factory) and in Germany (Wienerwald, a roast chicken based brand).

Wienerwald founded in 1955 had become Europe's biggest restaurant chain by the late 1970s with alone 700 units in Germany and even expanded worldwide including 800 restaurants in the USA. It also got in to all sorts of businesses such as a very large travel agency and was probably one of the biggest brand names in Germany. This huge expansion and accompanying debt was eventually it's downfall and the company went through huge sell.offs & restructuring in the 80s. In December 1988, Grand Met bought it.

One of the special status symbols Wienerwald had acquired was a "tent" at the Oktoberfest, a privilege only given to Munich (not Bavarian) based companies. No comparison to one of the brewery tents, it was though "the" place to go and have your half a roasted chicken. No loud music and standing and swaying on the benches but a good quality meal and a cheap priced litre of beer.

Someone knew I had a vague connection to Germany and thus I landed in Munich.At his point I was spending much of my time at the Munich HQ of Wienerwald, flying in Monday morning from Gatwick, staying at the Hilton and flying home Friday afternoon.

I had to visit the Oktoberfest operation for business reasons during the course of the 16 days (15th Sept to 1st Oct)  but on this day was invited by the accounts team to join them in one of the beer tents. Apart from the manager of the team, I was the only other male amongst about 15 ladies.

It was needless to say a very pleasant evening. Back in those days it was rather less packed/hectic than nowadays and one could move around a bit more and even pop out from time to time to get some fresh air or take a ride on one of the many funfair rides.

In the Blip, most of us are standing on the benches, the girls singing gto one of the, to me, unknown songs but I did clap along. One can also see little sign of traditional "Tracht" ie Lederhosen or Dirndl. Back in those days few did and it was not until the mid 90's that the trend took off.
Actually if you look very closely, the person on the very left, Frau M, was in Dirndl. She was always a very traditional, proud Bavarian as well as being a very friendly, humorous and kind person. A few years later, I was invited to her house which she and her husband had also built and decorated in wonderful Bavarian style.

My diary doesn't record that I missed the flight home the next day, so I guess I possibly didn't overdo the beer. The good colour in my face comes from having just returned from two weeks cruising in the Med.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.