Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Bishop Wilton Chalkpit

Today has been very special, my Grandkids were introduced to the delights of the Chalkpit.
This is a special place where all the boys since time began have played.
I met my Uncle Doug this morning -whilst I was shopping for picnic ingredients- he is in his 90's, I told him what the day had in-store for us and he immediately smiled and told me how, as a lads, he and his pals would go there and slide down the cliff side on shovels.......!
And that in those days kids just went out, never having to tell any one where they were going and would be out all day and when thirst struck they would take a drink from the spring water up the hill.... I still drink from same springs.
Jamie has a thing at the moment about hibernating and had us close our eyes whilst he went off to hibernate...he climbed a tree and one of the branches he used to get up there fell off thus making a descent quite difficult, Mum rescued him in spite of a bloody great big long legged black and red spider being on the tree!

Sadly the place is becoming over-run with Alchemillia and is in danger of loosing it's natural wild flowers, this is thanks to a local family who used the place as their own private tip some years ago. Problem solved....a bloody great big chain and padlock on either side of the entrance gate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.