SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

St Mary's Well

Hutton John

Bit of a mystery well. I can't find out much about it but it is in a field close to the pele tower of Hutton John and the family that once lived there, the Huddlestons, produced Catholic priests.

This was a handy well to bag on my way from the tip at Flusco and on my way to my walk up to Harrop and then a service at Wythburn Church (extras .. the church is by the two light green trees). A candlelit candlemas service. I don't know what's got into this heathen, that's three religious venues in two days. I realised the service was happening a few weeks ago and thought I would go ... the echoes of those clogs had continued to resound in my head.
It was rather moving, you could see everyone's breath rising throughout the service. Afterwards we had mulled wine and flapjack and I spoke to the chap behind me, Michael, and, incredibly, learnt that he used to work with G and the heavy horses in the forestry as a young man. He told me G had converted him to Wordsworth. He always was hard to resist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.