FirehorseMia

By FirehorseMia

Lunchtime

Enjoying the Spring sunshine


Edit: When I first approached this woman to ask her if I could photograph her, she said no. I explained to her about Blipfoto and she then graciously agreed.
I have been Blipping tattoos now for quite a while - from the random ones to the culturally significant ones.
This woman is a respected member of a Government department. I find it concerning that someone questioned her right to wear one.

I did not expect the response I have got so far.
Here is a link to information about ta Moko
Plus a quote from the site:
A moko on the face is the ultimate statement of one's identity as a M?ori. The head is believed to be the most sacred part of the body. To wear the moko on the face is to bear an undeniable declaration of who you are. ??Women wear moko on the face too. A woman's moko is worn on the chin, as well as occasionally appearing on the forehead, upper lip, nostrils, and throat.


I hope this has been educational ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.