Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sunday 5th Feb 2017 08:15

Sunrise – 07:26   Sunset – 17:53   Moon – Day 9
Extra; 17:50

This is the first time since 15th January that the mountains on Evvia have been clearly visible. As far as I am concerned they are the highlight of our view. Yesterday the entire view was fabulous the whole day and now I regret resisting temptation – I should have recorded it for my own enjoyment but I am ruthless when it comes to saving photographs.

In the main shot ferry boat Proteus is visible on it's first run of the day from Glossa to Skiathos. It then follows the most astonishing route calling in at Skopelos, Alonnisos, Evia-Mantoudi, Glossa, Skiathos and Volos. Fridays and Sundays see far more sea traffic than other days of the week for obvious reasons. The only other passenger sea traffic today has been Flying Dolphin Erato which has made a far more pedestrian journey; all stops in from Alonnisos to Volos and back again. Here it is, tiny, in the extra.

I read today that after 14th Feb ferry boat Proteus will be taken out of service and no replacement plans have been published. Naturally islanders are concerned that without a goods ship of any kind we are doomed but it is my belief that just with almost every other aspect of Greek life, just-in-time planning will step into the breach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.