dark|adapted

By dark

Back to the Sun



I love that you can really see the sky out here. In Georgia, and especially in Atlanta, you never really get a good view of the horizon - it's always blocked by buildings, or trees, or traffic, or large crowds of people way too close to you. That doesn't happen here. Clear sunsets, actual stars at night (too much light in Atlanta to see any stars), clean air, miles and miles of empty, desolate, beautiful nothing - it all adds up to a wonderful feeling of having escaped my glass and steel cage and somehow slipped back out into the real world. It will be fleeting, I know, but I'll enjoy it while it lasts.


A long day of driving today - 12 hours. From Butte, Montana, all the way through Wyoming, and on to my friend's house north of Denver. The sun finally gave up on me and called it a day somewhere southeast of Casper.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.