Aspiring to be better

By growl3th

Thread

This sculpture welcomes people to my home town.  I pass it every morning and evening so thought, as I was off work today, (Superbowl recovery day), I'd Blip it.

I didn't know what it was called or what it signified so did some research.

Called Thread, the piece has been designed by sculptor and designer Robert Kilvington.

The sculpture combines the idea of modern communications technology with a weave representing Kirkcaldy’s historic textile industries, creating a strong and visually exciting interconnection.

Robert said: “In designing this piece, I’ve concentrated on the crucial woven aspect of Kirkcaldy’s past. The pattern represents the warp and weft of the town’s textile industries while its overall curve represents a roll of a floorcloth or a length of linoleum."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.