RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

Hampsfell

Today was my first real opportunity to discover my new environment. I set to climb Hampsfell, one of Wainwright's outlying fells. The route took me up onto the impressive limestone pavement as shown in the blip. Hampsfell is best known for its hospice built by a local vicar as a refuge for fell wanderers sometime between 1834 and 1846. On top of the hospice is an unusual compass which helps with identification of the surrounding fells. To add to its uniqueness there is also an inscription in Greek over the door which is apparently a quotation from Homer. The hospice can just be seen on the right-hand side of the photo. For a small hill the views are stunning and even though the visibility today was mediocre at best Coniston Old Man could still be seen in the distance - see view from Hampsfell over Field Broughton towards Coniston in extras. I am already looking forward to return when the weather is clearer for some better pictures.

I descended from the top and crossed Grange-Over-Sands golf course before arriving in the lovely village of Cartmel. I had planned to return from there via the field but wasn't prepared to take on some over-inquisitive cows single-handedly so executed a u-turn and returned via the roads instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.