A Glorious Day

Leucodendron

This morning I left winter at home and drove down across the Canterbury Plains into springtime. The parts of Christchurch that I saw were beautiful. Everywhere there were masses of blossoms, daffodils and magnificent magnolias. I decided not to grab my groceries and head back home, but instead I went up to Victoria Park on the hills above the city.

It was sunny and calm, and very warm. Not many people were about. Apart from a digger working down the hill a bit, and a few cars, it was very quiet. The birds were wonderful! I walked along pleasantly shady pathways, stopping all the time to listen to the bellbirds. I had the idea of trying to record them with my camera. I made several movies in which the images don't matter, but I have yet to listen to them.

While a large proportion of the shrubs and trees are New Zealand natives, it was in the area of exotic flowers that the bellbirds were more plentiful and vociferous. While I photographed the fantastic Proteas and Leucodendrons the bellbirds sang in the nectar laden Grevilleas. It was magic.

I stayed there for hours and didn't get home until late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.