Two crows, five trees

After dropping Ben at the bus, I continued down to the Rowing Lake to catch the frosty sunrise (see extra). Then back to write  a SLFG newsletter before going for a walk round Old Sulehay Forest. I spotted these trees as soon as I got out of the car, nicely separated from the background by the mist still hanging in the Nene Valley. 

I enjoyed my walk, although all the ground flora seems very late compared to last year. The snowdrops were through, but still in tight bud, and I scarcely saw any bluebell leaves at all. There were plenty of birds around, and I had good views of tree creepers, nuthatches, long-tailed tits, goldcrests, a coal tit and a marsh tit, which seemed to be busily gathering moss, so maybe it's starting a nest, even though the weather seems to be turning cold again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.