Today's Special

By Connections

Snow Day

This female Varied Thrush spent most of our snowy day eating, or playing "dog in the manger" and not letting other birds near the high feeder suet and seed cake, except when the huge Pileated Woodpecker flew in and all the smaller birds scattered.

She also helped herself with relish to the grains from our pantry that I put out as emergency bird food today as the snow piled up (four to six inches here). I was glad to catch her not eating for a few minutes, during which time I also spotted three other Varied Thrushes in the trees just behind our back fence (see extra). I think they were hoping she'd go sleep off her over-indulgence...

A local friend of ours has just posted his first blip -- and haiku! -- and I hope you'll welcome him to this wonderful community. Here's a haiku about what Blipfoto means to me, in his honor:

Our everyday lives
shared with others, making friends
we may never meet.

Blip 1740

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.