and through the wire...

By hesscat

Scotland Street Tunnel

I had a wander at lunch time on what is probably my last lunch time wander around these parts, we move out of the city to an office the wrong side of town and no amenities outside the site.

Depressing... I had worked here in the city for 8 years and didn't take advantage of it, left for 18 months, came back and realised what I was missing. Of course, I did return as a blipper which forced me out and about.

The blip is of the Scotland Street train tunnel. I think I have mentioned it before but forget what was blipped, but it's story is worth repeating anyway (IMHO). The (now closed) tunnel leads up, underground to Waverley Station, and you can see the other end on platform 20 there. You would not know there is a tunnel there. To the left the line ran to the coast at Leith to ships transferring passengers and goods across the sea to Fife. There are loads of lines in Edinburgh that are now cycle paths etc, it must have been amazing to see trains throughout the city...

... ah jumpers for goalposts...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.