Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

The Gorilla Book

This is the project that I was happy to finish last week at the island.  It’s a companion to The Elephant Book blipped here.      Same size, using the leftover carousel cardboards covered with gelli prints, but not with such hard covers, this was an experiment to use signatures (just 2 pages) instead of single sheets for the difference in the way the coptic binding works.   This way is a bit tighter I think, altho I like making the single pages.    The pages have been ready for many eons but I somehow never got around to printing the photos and putting it together.  I LOVE doing the embroidery thread bindings.  

Taking these mountain gorilla photos in the wild in Uganda was such an exciting experience (blip here) I had to do something special and handmade with them (altho I have a Blurb book of all that 2013 trip)  I’m not sure why it seems to take so long —whatever do I do with the days??  Now I’m anxious to make the next book about my Mom…..better get going....


Putting a few of the pages in the extras…one inside a signature, one in between..both lay flat.  One standing up.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.