Return to the North

By Viking

Quintessentially English

I had to go to a school near Cleethorpes today. It was always hard to describe to my KIwi pals what an English seaside 'resort' was (they really have nothing like it there!) but for us Brits, going to the seaside for the day was an exciting and enthralling experience. Amusement arcades, donkeys on the beach, ice creams and of course fish and chips out of newspaper.
In reality I always hated the traditional seaside. Cleethorpes is our nearest. In fact it is really on the Humber estuary so the sea is ALWAYS a mucky brown colour and you usually have to put on hiking books to go find it anyway.

After my meeting I headed off to the sea front for a walk )and it was firking freezing) then I sat in a restaurant for some seriously expensive and sadly disappointing fish and chips.
Did like the pier though

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.