An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Jet Planes and Old Gasholders

99.5% of folk would have preferred the gentle and pleasant (but a little ordinary) sunrise over the river image that I took ten minutes before this, as I returned promptly, perhaps to wait in for yet another day for the grind of rotating plumbers and electricians, to finds me that Holy Grail, HOT water!

Truth probably is that I only went out with camera and one (17-70mm Sigma Contemporary) lens and the river scene would have benefited from a graduated grey filter, if I was do it justice that is.

I do have a soft spot and a good few interesting images (usually at night) of this disused gasholder, my justification perhaps being that they are disappearing from our towns and cities (probably justifiably) and the next time I wander up that way, it'll be gone. A polariser really brought out the blue/orange combination as the early sun hit the rusty old ironwork.

I missed yesterday's glorious weather as I was curled up double in bed with stomach cramps - and other 'symptoms', from food poisoning, no doubt due to not been able to wash the dishes (or anything else!) for two weeks. Had I known that today no-one was going to come out at all, I would have (could have) gone much further than I did and now of course, the weather is shite!!!! (They phoned me at midday to tell me this)

As I lay dying in bed late yesterday afternoon, the female electrician had to let herself in and after she moaned at all the previous efforts both her colleagues and others had done, she accidentally/on purpose 'burst' the tank, rendering it leaking and useless. 

She had to turn the water off at the mains, of course. She called for (yet another) plumber, none which was available. So, that is how she would have liked to have left it - until I gently reminded her that my 'symptoms' required a frequent flushing lavatory and plenty of water to rehydrate myself. 

Well, she did something and so I had water, but not much else!! Still feeling rather queasy and unwell and so am glad to have got something half nice for a Blip today.

And of course, there is no doubt that a new hot water cylinder - with up to date lagging, not the crappy square one now with almost no insulation. But, tell, pray, how many Council contacted workspeople will it take to change a hot water cylinder...

I'm now full member of Blipfoto for a year; I felt really bad not being able to award some of you lovely lot Hearts and Favourites, whilst you so kindly continue to bestow so many on mine, for which I hugely thank you. THANK YOU!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.