Migrant in Moscow

By Migrant

Re-acquaintance

I'm in Zagreb today.  I shot this image passing through the debris of a street market at the end of its day.  This is my second visit to Zagreb, the first one being in the 1980s when the city was part of Yugoslavia.  I recall everything being dark (no street lights, no advertising), very few cafes or places to eat. I carried food from Italy, or maybe Austria, whichever was the previous stop on a two-month backpacker trip.  Everything looked old and rundown but seemed to be generally maintained.  I remember being quite impressed (in my naivety) with my first exposure to what I thought was real communism.  I recall a bus trip to Belgrade and thinking how friendly the service had been from the bus crew (for example, the conductor had loaded my backpack into the baggage hold rather than telling me to do it myself as would have been the norm in the capitalist world). I thought this  must have been due to their ethic of working together for the common good because everything (profits too) belonged to them after all!  It was fun while that notion lasted.  Which wasn't for very long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.