Thursdays are 'bus' days

On a Thursday, Ann buys a 'day ticket' for unlimited all day travel on any of Edinburgh's buses. It costs £4 which is extremely good value. After my morning walk I have to have home alone snooze time while Ann uses her day ticket to go to an Adobe Photoshop class.

When she comes home we jump on a bus and go for 'big long Thursday afternoon walk'. Obviously we do not go for a walk on the bus – we use the bus to get to the start of our walk. Today we went all the way to Newhaven on the bus.

The plan was to walk along the cycle trail to Victoria Park, have a play in Victoria Park and then walk along the Waters of Leith and get the bus home at the bottom of Dundas Street. Somehow we got a bit lost on the cycle trail. The Edinburgh cycle trails are brilliant. A lot of them follow the routes of old train tracks and we didn't actually realise that there were so many?? So today we somehow managed to stay on a cycle trail all the way from Newhaven to Stockbridge. And then because we were having such a nice walk we decided to walk along the Waters of Leith from Stockbridge to Balgreen and get the bus home from there. So that is what we did.

There was only one problem with this walk. When we got to Balgreen we had to wait 21 mins for a bus (aren't bus apps a great invention?) And then when it did eventually arrive, it had to swap drivers at the next stop and the new driver was 15 mins late so it took us ages to get home. In fact it was after 5pm when we got home and we were both really, really tired. Ann gave me my dinner but I went straight into my bed for a little snooze. Ann wanted to go straight into her bed for a little snooze used her 'day ticket' again to go to her evening class in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. Just how brilliant is Edinburgh's public transport system? We can use our day ticket on the trams too and gorgeous little collie dogs travel for free.

Ann's just come home and guess where I was?........................... Still in my bed, fast asleep and my dinner has gone untouched. Got to go out for my bedtime wee now and then I can go back into my bed and stay there until tomorrow morning. Yay!

Thursday bus days are very tiring for a gorgeous little collie!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.