Spraying drops of water

Today I took my small camera and went for a walk beside Lake Pupuke, before starting on the afternoon work.There were a number of shags about. Most were the little pied (Kawau paka). One in the far distance, with its head mostly hidden was a Pied Shag (Karuhiruhi). 

This one was by itself in the weed filled small western extension of the main lake. It is a Kawau tui (Little black shag). It can be identified by the overall black colour, with a small tuft of white behind the head. Also the steely grey beak. 

It was shaking its wings preparatory to flying away. As it was the only one of its species there today, I couldn't improve on this.

My extra was taken as I walked from the car park to the Liaison offices. It was another day where I worked all day, and felt I had the time to do it all fully. Satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.