Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Happy birthday Akureyri!

My hometown, Akureyri, is 150 years old today :)

Celebrating the anniversary has been a prominent feature in Akureyri's cultural life since the beginning of the year with events and "happenings" all around town. Next Saturday will be the highlight of the anniversary-year with festivities throughout the day and also a big concert in Listagilið and fireworks just before midnight. I'm looking forward to photographing during the weekend.

The photo, looks better in large: The Icelandic flag and other flags with Akureyri's coat of arms are a necessary decoration today. Here are a few and you can see my street to the right. I live in the oldest part of Akureyri, called Innbærinn, and my house is 106 years old. Notice the white mountain tops...? Yes, still snow there.
And did you also notice the car transporter? I could have chosen a picture with fewer cars, but since I don't see those transporters very often here in Iceland and certainly not often in Akureyri, I decided to post this one. Funny to see the blue car with it's "behind" up in the air ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.