Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

A bath

on her ev'ning walk
even though it was freezing
vicky took a bath

I couldn't have touched the water, let alone put a foot in it, but Vicky didn't seem to mind; she waded and drank from the lazy stream on her walk at the tail end of the day.

The car troubles are getting to an end: I'm going to go get the new (to us, but it is quite recent anyway) one next Thursday, my insurance company will be giving me a fair amount for the broken one; all in all, the best that I could have hoped for under the circumstances. If I had wanted to buy a replacement I would have had to sell the old one and I wouldn't have got more for it than what my insurance company's going to pay me... As the old Bill once said, "all's well that ends well".

They're beginning to talk of a date for Julie to get out of the clinic. Not that everything's solved, but they feel they've done the best they could and staying longer won't make things much better. It's a long-term thing, and will have to be dealt with as such with the help of regular doctor's visits.

I'm sorry for being such a poor blipmate at the moment. I find it strange, myself, as I have all the time in the world at my disposal these days. I take photos everyday, I post them here (usually, as I'm doing right now, the day after), but I can't seem to keep up with visiting your journals and commenting on them. Be assured that I do think of you and try to visit and sprinkle stars and hearts whenever I can. I guess my time online is more devoted to following political news at the moment, both in France and the USA... The first round of our presidential election is in just over two months. My blood curdles at the thought, especially when I look at the polls (I know, I know...).

I'm very lucky to have good friends around at the moment. Our choir group is getting more structured, from an informal group to an association, of which I shall be co-treasurer. I'm also getting involved in an association devoted to expanding the reach of philosophy through various means (discussions, interventions in schools) where I'll also be treasurer. I'm starting to think a bit more of what I'll do when I feel better (which means I am feeling a bit better already, I guess!), part of which will be linked to photography. I'm keeping busy with things that appeal to me, which is all I need right now.

Thanks for visiting consistently, leaving stars, hearts and comments. Thanks especially for your words of comfort on my Wednesday blip; they were very much appreciated. Once again, Blipfoto proves to be a great community that helps its own in dire straits. It's an invaluable asset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.